How does it work?
Once you've filled a vacancy, it’s likely you will have many candidates still in the process who you’d like to keep in place for similar vacancies. We can activate the ‘Pipeline’ feature to deal with this.
The big advantage of this feature is that rather than simply rejecting many good candidates, and thus wasting their time and your time on screening so far, you can put them to one side (or continue processing them) with the expectation that another suitable vacancy could become available for them.
Once pipelining is activated, you will see a new ‘Pipelined’ candidate status on the Candidates tab alongside ‘Submitted’, ‘Unsubmitted’ and ‘Archived’:
You can ‘Add to pipeline’ and ‘Remove from pipeline’ from the ‘Bulk action’ dropdown list, or a ‘Single action’ process icon can be added to enable pipelining on each row of the Candidate data grid.
When candidates have been added to the pipeline, they no longer appear in the default ‘Submitted’ view - instead they are available via the new ‘Pipelined’ status, or when ‘All’ candidates have been selected.
We advise creating a process to pipeline candidates and send comms at the same time. A typical email is as follows:
Thank you for your interest in joining us. We really appreciate the time you've taken on your application.
Further to your application, the vacancy you applied for is no longer available. However, we have moved your application into our pipeline and will be actively looking to allocate you to a similar vacancy as soon as we can.
In the meantime, we will continue to take you through the recruitment process as far as we can, so you are ready to go, once a new opportunity is identified.
We'll be in contact again once we have identified a new suitable opportunity to let you know when we're ready for you to book a slot.
Finally, if you do not wish to be held in our pipeline, please just withdraw your original application.
The Recruitment Team